Finally! A List of Industry Discounts for Makeup Artists in Australia!

So….I don’t know about any of you out there, but being in Australia I have the HARDEST time finding industry discounts. Unlike in the US where almost every brand has one available.


So here are my tips on how to find those few brands in Oz.

Just remember, you can’t just apply for a discount and expect it to be granted straight away, you need a folio, ID (both professional and personal), a website, sometimes a social media site is accepted but it’s usually not, business cards, tear sheets, basically just proof that you exist and you do your job right.

It’s pretty simple, then comes the trickier bits…

Discovering the brands that do discounts, and applying. Some of the well known ones are MAC, Kryolan and ModelRock Lashes, generally they have a simple application form that you can download, email back to them along with the appropriate ID and proof.

Here are some brands you should apply for:

  • Paintbox Cosmetics Free to apply! I can’t actually recall needing to show any proof of being a makeup artist though, the form is simple to access and on their site. They’re not cheap in general so the discount will definitely help. 30%
  • MAC Unfortunately not free to sign up, but they do offer both a one year and a two year membership fee, and you can’t use your PRO Card at counters (which are everywhere), you can only use them at standalone stores, and in Australia there are very few. But the discount is great, and MAC is great for foundations! I believe it’s roughly 30-40% off
  • Kryolan Another free to sign up! The form is on their website and you email that back with proof and ID, great if you’re in/around Melbourne as their store is located there, but the online store offers the discount also. Kryolan have a great range!
  • ModelRock Lashes This one definitely helps with bridal work! You can buy fake lashes in bulk, or as low as $1.80 per set, great discounts available and they vary. The lashes they stock are great quality too.
  • Makeup And Glow One of those online stores that stock everything, in store is trade only though. It’s free to sign up for industry use and makes it easier to buy in bulk. The only downside is that I feel every time I want something it’s out of stock and I have to be put on the ‘notify me when this is back in stock’ list.
  • Morphe Brushes The only downside to this is the fee, you need to go to the online shop and ‘buy’ a discount, and pay for shipping, and hope that the proof/ID you gave them was enough to have the discount, I personally haven’t applied for this one yet. But their eyeshadows are SOOO PIGMENTED, they’re really beautiful and they aren’t expensive even without the discount!
  • Gorgeous Cosmetics I applied for this one a while ago (free!), and haven’t heard back, which makes me think I should resend the email. You provide proof of your work and ID, blah blah blah, all that fun stuff. But Gorgeous Cosmetics are amazing, they aren’t expensive but they certainly aren’t cheap, hence getting the discount. They’re an Australian brand so it’s even better supporting your own industry!
  • Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Another free to apply brand, and holy wow! I bought a couple of their lip tars a few months ago and I am impressed! The tiniest tiny tiny tiny little bead of the tar can cover a set of full lips. The OCC range is designed to replace your lip kit (which i’m not entirely sure about), but it’s worth applying. I believe it’s 30% off.
  • Napoleon Perdis Now I hate to say this, but Napoleon isn’t really a go-to brand, unless you trained with them and they train you to pretty much just use their products alone (word of someone who trained there, not me.) I’m not badmouthing them, I DO use Napoleon products, and I love the ones I use. But their discount is difficult to get (sort of), you can either A) Train with them and receive the student discount then, or B) Spend $100 or more at a Napoleon counter/store, and if it’s within 30 days (I think) you have to submit that with your application, you need to prove to them that you use their products.
  • Royal and Langnickel This was BY FAR the easiest application process, download the form, fill it out, email it back, I had a reply within a week and could use my discount. Which was great because they just had a 50% off sale anyway!
  • Face Atelier If i’m honest I haven’t actually used this one yet. I keep eyeing off things on the website that I want, but in reality I just don’t need it. I have everything in my kit that I want but it’s definitely going on the next in line list, there are so many good reviews about this brand it’s worth applying for a discount. It’s free!
  • Designer Makeup Tools One of the first industry discounts I received, once again THIS ONE’S AUSTRALIAN. It makes so many international brands/products available to Australia. The pro discount is easy to apply for, just sending off a form available on the website. The discounts you receive range, (17%, 45%, 8%, 27% – it’s kinda odd) but it’s amazing! Some of the discounts are really big.
  • Media Makeup Store Just another form to fill and send it across, the wait time is only a couple days which is great! And they stock loads of brands, I believe MUFE too!
  • The Makeup Foundation Another great store when you’re after a bit of everything, free to apply, I can’t specifically remember the discount but I believe it’s around the 30% mark.
  • Inglot This one is free to apply, just an online form, and if you get accepted you have to go into a store. And depending on where you’re located, this can be rather difficult. But they’re really nice about it, they won’t send you home with nothing after a 2 hour trip just because you forgot something, it should be sent to them on your form.

There are probably quite a few more! But these are the ones i’ve found/applied for, or know that they’re easy to access.

There’s also Mecca Maxima/Cosmetica IF you work in editorial, unfortunately for me that’s not the case 😦

-Flossy x


Remember, for any beauty struggle or for those makeup-challenged and living in Australia. I’m here!

Leave a comment